Mills in England

by Sophea

As part of my research, it is important to look at the mill nude try, specifically wool. Now it is fair to say that I don’t have great knowledge on the subject but it is important to get an understand of how fabrics are crafted, before I can write about them or use them in the best way.

Mills in England are becoming a bit of a dying trade. Most fabrics are now woven abroad and the amount of finishers in England has also declined. From what I can gather, a lot of this is down to the expense in England; it is cheaper to produce abroad.

I received a brochure from John Arbon Textiles. Below are some pages from the brochure which explains a bit about their craft. I will hopefully be visiting Londom Cloth Company and mills based in Leeds to get a fairer idea of the industry.

