Modern make reference

by Sophea

The dress above is currently being sold on etsy. I came across it as a nice reference for my make. A lot of the references I have found are illustrations which aren’t all that helpful. This has a lovely cowl neck which I have seen in a lot of my photographic references and this is what I look to replicate, to add a little something extra to my make. Furthermore, I have never drafted a cowl block, so this is the perfect opportunity to learn how to do so. The back on the dress I make will not be low like this one as it is not appropriate for a wedding of the period, especially as the bride would be getting married in a church. The length is roughly what I look to replicate. In addition, I will have either fitted full length sleeves, or full length fluted sleeves: both were typical of the period.

