Seams

by Sophea

image

Photo courtesy of: http://www.doctormacro.com/movie%20star%20pages/Harlow,%20Jean-Annex.htm

I have selected this image of Jean Harlow in the 1932 film Red Dust because of the centre front seam. I might need to apply this to my make. I have an idea of how I want this dress to look and by the end of today I will make the final decision of we here I need place my seams on the dress. The reason for considering seam placement is because as it is bias cut, the smaller the pieces, the less fabric I will need to buy. Furthermore, this is a relatively simple design, so I like to think of the seam placement as a part of decoration in the make.

I will be measuring my actress tomorrow and can then begin pattern drafting from my designs. I will hopefully begin cutting my toile by the end of the week.

