Spring term project – Bias cut bridal gown with tulle veil and cap

by Sophea

So new term means new projects. I haven’t completely finished the jumpsuit; I waited until my class did tailoring skills (which I am currently doing to finish it to the standard I wanted). I have the finishing to do and hand sewing in the lining. I am now looking forward to my next project which is going to be a 1930’s bias cut wedding dress with a tulle veil and lace cap. I have already done some researching which I will be uploading and sharing with you all very soon.

I am very excited for this project. I have a real interest in bridal wear. it’s history and current bridal trends. I have wanted to make a dress like this for sometime and finally i have the opportunity. This will be my main make for my final exhibition this time next year and will be my last big make on my degree. From here I plan on doing placements and being out in the industry, learning as much as I can on the job. I will finish my jumpsuit and submit it with my bridal dress for the exhibition. It is very exciting!

Keep an eye out for my posts on my research, process and eventually my final outcome.

