Anna Nicole at the ROH

by Sophea

In September I visited the ROH on their student night and saw Anna Nicole. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I have to say it was one of the best things I have seen at the ROH. It was so light hearted and almost everything was in jest. I laughed and cried – at the same time. I can see why it is such a popular contemporary Opera. With the student ticket I paid £6, including the booking fee. The set, costumes, scenic art etc. is not what sold me on this production but the actual dialogue in the opera. The lead was really great and threw herself in whole hearted. I took someone for their first time to the Opera and this is the perfect icebreaker. It isn’t heavy or slow going unlike some Operas and the show flew by and kept me hooked from start to finish. I would seriously recommend this to everyone if the ROH do it again. I would be interested to see how another company stage this production and will definitely go and see it again at the next opportunity.

A must see!!

